Kingsport Gym

Elle is on her second week of teaching and already has students asking to meet with her. While she is busy planning lessons and teaching, I currently don’t exactly have a lot to do. In fact, tomorrow is pay day and I have yet to step inside a classroom… can’t complain about that 🙂 I’ll be the first to admit that I have a lot of free time (and I mean A LOT) since coming to campus and I am really enjoying my slow paced days. On days I don’t run with Elle I head to the gym for a workout. Just like everything else in China, going to the gym is not just a simple trip to the gym… it is a whole new world.

For American standards the gym is fairly dirty, but in China I think it is a nice gym. There are a ton of treadmills, ellipticals, and stationary bikes all facing the windows which are covered in thick, dusty curtains to block out any sunlight. They have weight machines and then a few free weights which are always occupied with old-shirtless men in flip flops (so I stay clear of that area). There is also a spinning room, a studio for dance and yoga classes as well as a studio filled with stripper poles…no joke. There is also an area to play badminton and basketball.

One of the oddest things about gyms in China is that there are smoking lounges inside the gym and it is not uncommon to find someone lifting weights with a cigarette hanging out of their mouth. I don’t get it… OH CHINA. Or the men who smoke while walking on the treadmill… OH CHINA! Also, a majority of the gym is carpeted… and I have yet to see a vacum in China so I am not sure how it gets clean…even more gross when you see everyone spit on the floor… but hey it is China lol

There are a couple main tvs blasting throughout the cardio area with hilarious movies playing. Not that I understand anything the actors are saying but the other day I was watching a cat versus ninja movie that I was giggling out loud to.

I have yet to try any of the workout classes but I’ll keep you updated once I do. I tried to take pictures of the gym today but a man was following me around saying he didn’t want his picture taken (even though I wasn’t taking pictures of him) but I managed to snap a few pictures anyways. Great thing about being a foreigner is you just say “ting bu dong” (I don’t understand) and just walk away 🙂

This entry was posted in Pictures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kingsport Gym

  1. Jodie Hayes says:

    Great post Allyson. You had me laughing out loud!

Leave a Reply

